

TRIPLE HELIX VII

7th Biennial International Conference on University, Industry & Government Linkages





Glasgow: Scotland: UK: 17-19 June 2009



CALL FOR PAPERS

The Role of Triple Helix in the Global Agenda for Innovation, Competitiveness and Sustainability

The Triple Helix network of University-Industry-Government (U-I-G) interactive relations is gaining increasing recognition in policy, academic and industrial circles as a dynamic institutional basis for wealth creation and sustainable development through the generation of knowledge and its effective application. Given that considerable knowledge and experience is being accumulated around the world on U-I-G interactions, Triple Helix VII will provide a platform for state-of-the-art presentations, knowledge exchange, and for discussion of the social, economic and environmental implications.

KEY THEMES

- Analytical models for Triple Helix
- Innovation systems
- Triple Helix as a basis for innovation capacity building
- R&D priorities
- IP rights, knowledge, and exchange system
- Third mission of universities
- Global agenda for sustainable development
- Competitiveness and regional development

PROGRAMME DEADLINES

Opening Date for Abstract Submission 15 July 2008

Closing Date for Abstract Submission 14 November 2008

Notification of Acceptance 16 January 2009

Full Paper/Workshop Paper Due 17 April 2009

Poster Extended Abstracts Due 17 April 2009

FOR INFORMATION CONTACT

Girma Zawdie g.zawdie@strath.ac.uk
Sheila Forbes s.forbes@eee.strath.ac.uk

CONFERENCE WEBSITE

http://www.triple-helix-7.org













TRIPLE HELIX VII

7th Biennial International Conference on University, Industry & Government Linkages





CONFERENCE STEERING COMMITTEE

Professor Tariq Durrani Conference Chairman (University of Strathclyde)

Chairman, International Scientific Committee **Professor Henry Etzkowitz** (Business School, Newcastle University)

Dr Girma Zawdie Chairman, Conference Organising Committee (University of Strathclyde)

Sheila Forbes Conference Administrator (University of Strathclyde)

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE

Chair: Tariq Durrani University of Strathclyde Glasgow

Henry Etzkowitz Business School, Newcastle University, England, UK

Loet Leydesdorff Amsterdam School of Communications Research, The Netherlands

Jose Manoel Carvalho de Mello Federal Fluminese University, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Mohammed Saad University of West of England (UWE), England, UK

Girma Zawdie University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Ricardo Vialle Fondazione Rosselli and Scoula Superiore Pubblica Administrazione de Roma, Italy

Poh-Kam Wong National University of Singapore, Singapore

BLUE RIBAND ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Chair: Andrew Hamnett Principal, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Department for Innovation, University and Skills (DIUS), London **Mark Beatson**

Tariq Durrani University of Strathclyde, Glasgow John Ireland Scottish Government, Glasgow

John Kirkland Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), London

Gordon Masterton JE Jacobs UK Limited, Glasgow

Shonaig Macpherson Scottish Council for Development and Industry, Edinburgh

Sam Thorburn University of Strathclyde, Glasgow Girma Zawdie University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Chair: Henry Etzkowitz Business School, Newcastle University, England

Scientific Secretariat: Girma Zawdie University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Erik Baark HK University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Lepori Benedetto University of Lugano and Observatoire des Sciences et Techniques, Paris

Peter Booth University of Strathclyde, Glasgow Zhuyan Chou Shenyang University, China

African Centre for Technology Studies (ACTS), Nairobi, Kenya Norman Clark

Philip Cooke Cardiff University, Wales, UK Javier Revilla Diez University of Hannover, Germany Mark Dodgson University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia James Dzisah University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Charles Edquist Lund University, Sweden

Jelel Ezzine Ministry of Higher Education, Scientific Research and Technology; University of Tunis el Manar, Tunisia

Devrim Goktepe-Hulten Max Planck Institute of Economics, Germany **Anthony Grimason** University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK North Carolina State University, USA **Denis Gray**

Calestous Juma Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, USA National Science and Technology Development Agency, Thailand **Patarapong Interekumnerd**

Tohoku University, Japan Yuko Harayama

Robert Kalin University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK Helen Keenan University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK Ursula Kelly John Kirkland University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK

Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), London, UK

Venni Krishna Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India

Xue Lan Tsinghua University, Beijing, China Rejean Landry University of Laval, Canada Cooper H Langford University of Calgary, Canada Jean Michel Larrasquet Mondragon University, Spain Peter McGregor University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Chandra Malairaja Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MoSTI), Malaysia

David C Mowery

University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA Science and Technology Policy Research (SPRU), University of Sussex **Martin Meyer** John Mugabe NEPAD, Science and Technology Commission, Pretoria, South Africa Kitipong Promwong National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA), Thailand

Liana Marina Ranga Business School, Newcastle University, UK

Lea Maria Leme Strini Velho University of Campinas, Brazil

Weiping Wu Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA, USA